• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Sharing between family Nook and Sony Reader?

New Here ,
Apr 25, 2010 Apr 25, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My wife and I received the above readers for Christmas.  We would like to be able to share books.  I have no experience with ADE or ebooks generally other than buy, download and read.  It appears to me that we could share our books through ADE by using a common email address (and maybe a common credit card?).  I think we would have to modify our respective emails (and credit cards?) with B&N and Sony and re-download all the books.  Then we would authorize the PC, Nook and Sony as required....I haven't been through the authorize process so I don't know what is involved.  We could add all books to the ADE library and download as needed?

Is this feasible?  It appears to the only possible approach from what I have been able find on the net.  If it doesn't work, then ebooks become much less interesting.

I do understand that there is some sort of problem in sharing a B&N book with a Sony, but the other direction is possible.  Do I have that right?

Thanks much,  Bruce

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

ePubs purchased from B&N use a password based DRM scheme where the content is tied to a username and password (your email and CC# in the case of B&N).  This content does not work on your Sony (or Sony Ebook Library), until Sony issues a update for the  Sony Readers (and Sony EBL).

Once this is supported on the Sony (and other) devices, there are no limit to the number of devices which can be activated using the same username/password.