5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2011 12:22 AM by Starlover_jacob

White border lines after live trace

Mellfee

Hi,

I'm new with Illustrator and I'm finding it difficult to navigate after Photoshop.

Basically I have a photo which I have live traced. I did it in colour so it looks like a painting.  Thats what I want to end up with and will likely only be viewing it on my computer.  In Illustrator it looks fine, just how I want it.  But when I save it as a .ai file and then view it in something like Preview (on the Mac) it comes up with a thin white border between almost every colour.

I searched this forum and the net prior to posting this but I cannot seem to solve the issue.  I have read things about transparency but in my case there shouldn't be any gaps, should there?  I just live traced the photo.

If you can help me with please phrase it in simple terms.  I'm only just starting out here....

Thanks!

Mellfee

• 1. Re: White border lines after live trace
          Monika Gause Adobe Community Professional & MVP

When you're viewing the AI in Preview, you see an expanded version of the tracing. It consists of a lot of single shapes joining each other. And because every single one of the shapes is kind of smoothed at its edges, there are those little white gaps. This doesn't matter when printing, but you see it on your screen. You could consider converting your live trace into pixels in Illustrator and then exporting it (just for the prupose of viewing it in Preview or sending it to your friends). For printing you keep the vector version.

For converting into pixels choose Object > Rasterize

2 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: White border lines after live trace
            Mellfee Level 1

Hi Monika,

Thanks for helping me out here.  I really appreciate it.  I do have some further questioning though if you wouldn't mind.  I'm just trying to understand what's happening.