2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2010 9:15 AM by lucasishuman-svaaj3

Understanding OSMF layouts?

lucasishuman-svaaj3

hi-

im a seasoned actionscript developer but just starting out with osmf. i am having trouble understanding how layouts and layout rendering works.

i have a control bar with all of my ui controls. i also have a 'share' button/panel that i want to live over the video (in depth). i have been making these items custom classes that extend LayoutTargetSprite. then i have create a separate layout renderer for each and layout container to add each to stage. is this the right approach?

there also seems to be a problem with the inital positioning of my items. i setting the alignment properties for the layout target metadata, but everything is appearing top-aligned (i want bottom). i feel like i need to override the 'measure' or 'measuredWidth'/'measuredHeight' methods in my ui classes to return the size i want the targets to be so they are positioned properly, maybe?

this resource has been helpful, but seem a little out of date...?

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/OSMF/1.0/Dev/WSc6f922f643dd2e6d4770fe491265bf34074-7fee.html

i also want to update the control bar size on stage resize, so i should use the LayoutTarget 'layout' method to update the dimensions of the control bar to fit the new width? or should i update the 'width' property of my control bay layout metadata? or something else?

thanks for any tips or resources that might be helpful,

lucas

• 1. Re: Understanding OSMF layouts?
          RyanOConnell Level 2

Hi Lucas,