• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I force a file download from a folder above the root?

New Here ,
Apr 29, 2010 Apr 29, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to ColdFusion and need some help. I set up a virtual folder on my website and then mapped in the CF9 admin panel to a "Docs" folder above my root, where I would like to store sensitive documents. CF tags are enabled.

I know that my mapping is set up correctly, because when I set up a cfm page with the following code, I can successfully download the file:

<cfheader name="Content-Disposition" value="attachment; filename=Calendar.pdf">
<cfcontent type="application/pdf file=/Docs/Calendar.pdf">

But what I need is to create one cfm age that will be able to handle downloads of multiple files types and names from the folder above my root.

I then found Duke Snyder's solution on an older forum for the "click link and download file" question where he suggests making a "download.cfm" page with the following code:  I did this, and named the file "download.cfm"

<cfsetting enablecfoutputonly="yes">
<cfheader name="Content-disposition" value="attachment; filename=""#Url.FileName#""">
<cfcontent type = "foo/bar" file = "/Docs/#Url.FileName#">

Then Duke suggests: "Now I pass the FileName through the Url and it WILL ask if you want to open or download the file. We accomplish this by making up an eronious file type."

I then set up a password-protected page on the site that lists the titles of a number of documents, with links to the virtual folder, where they can be downloaded.  One of the links, which goes to "Calendar.pdf" I constructed as: "download.cfm?FileName=Calendar.pdf"  When I click on the link, I get the popup box that says "Do you want to open or save this file?  With the name listed as: "download.cfm?Filename=Calendar_pdf"