11 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2010 5:19 PM by the_wine_snob

VHS to digital conversion

jstaffon22

I've recently converted a few home movie vhs tapes to mpg format. At low resoution the quality is still quite good. However, TVs are much larger today than 15 years ago. I'd like to watch them on my 46" HDTV (4:3 of course). How do I change the resolution to a larger size and maintain the video quality. Currently, the mpg files look terrible when played on my 46" HDTV. I'm told Premiere has a function to up-convert (I hope that's the right terminology) and keep video quality. I'm a noob to Adobe Premiere Pro. I have CS4. Thanks.

• 1. Re: VHS to digital conversion
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          How do I change the resolution to a larger size and maintain the video quality.

The only feasible approach is using RedGiants Instant HD Pro plug-in. All other approaches make it even worse.

• 2. Re: VHS to digital conversion
            Jeff Bellune Adobe Community Professional

Welcome to the forum!

How do the original VHS tapes look when displayed on the big TV?  You won't get any better quality than that no matter what format is used during the conversion.

How are you playing the .mpg files?  Did you convert to MPEG2 DVD, burn a disc and then watch the DVD?

-Jeff

• 3. Re: VHS to digital conversion
              the_wine_snob Level 9

As you are starting with SD material, you would get the best quality by keeping MPEG out of the mix, until you output to DVD. Using MPEG as a source, and then outputting to DVD will give you two quality hits. This ARTICLE might give you some options on the initial A-D conversion, using DV-AVI Type II files initially.

Then, going from SD to HD for output to a BD is limited. Harm's suggestion is probably as good as it gets. Do not expect miracles here, but if you keep your workflow based on DV-AVI Type II, until you're ready to output, things will probably look MUCH better.

Good luck,

Hunt