8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2010 10:24 PM by Tai Lao

ACR 6.0 Grain Question?

ACRFREAK Level 1

I am a professional fine art landscape print maker.  My question is about adding grain in ACR 6.0.  I do most work in ACR with some capture sharpening there, a touch of color noise reduction and no luminance noise reduction (all images are ideally exposed at very low ISO).  I then do fine tuning in PS (now CS5).  Speed of workflow is of no concern.  Quality is the highest concern.  I interpolate using Bicubic Smoother (lets not argue about that...).  I make very large high end laser (light-jet) silver halide (flex) super gloss prints.  After interpolation, the last major step in my workflow is always extremely advanced custom sharpening.  I am just starting to get into adding grain, and will be doing test prints shortly.

The question(s):

It does not seem like the best time to add grain (in ACR 6.0) considering my workflow.  It seems that the best time might be after interpolation, and right after the sharpening.  Why would I add grain that would then be interpolated considerably, and then sharpened?  Is sharpening digital "grain" a ideal way to develop an image?  If my intuition is right here (maybe I am wrong) maybe a trip back to ACR with the giant finished, sharpened, TIFF would be a good idea?  Or is the grain making abilities of PS (CS5) as good or better than ACR 6.0?  Maybe I am way off on when the best time to add grain to my workflow is?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: ACR 6.0 Grain Question?
          MadManChan2000 Adobe Employee

Hi,