10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2010 6:20 PM by John T Smith

No audio on imported AVCHD files PP CS5

Birshed

Hi,

I am new to Premiere Pro and my organisation want to start doing some video work for their website.  We have filmed some clips and have now saved these on the PC.  When I import these clips to Premiere Pro, I can see the clip, but when I drag it to the sequence the audio track is missing.  I have tried some other videos from our vimeo page, the audio in these works normally as you would expect.

The files I am having an issue with are AVCHD (mts) from a Canon Legria camcorder.  The audio plays normally when you open them in Windows Media player.

The PC is an Intel Xeon, 4GB RAM with Nvidia Quadro FX 3800 running Windows 7 with nearly 2TB of disk space so I know its not an issue with the spec of the system.  At the minute we are using the trail.  It's quite complicated but when we ordered the software it was between CS4 and CS5, they shipped us the CS4 box with a free upgrade to CS5, the box hasn't arrived yet so we are using the trail of CS5 we downloaded from Adobe.com.

If anyone has any help or advice I'd really appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Bernard

• 1. Re: No audio on imported AVCHD files PP CS5
          Jeff Bellune Adobe Community Professional

AVCHD and its likely counterpart, AC3 audio, are not supported in the

trial.  The fact that you actually got the video to import means you are

far ahead of most folks when they try to work with AVCHD in the trial

version.

I know that's not much consolation, but if you want to sample all of

CS5's goodness, you'll have to buy a copy.  Adobe offers a 30-day,

money-back guarantee if the software doesn't live up to your expectations.

-Jeff

• 2. Re: No audio on imported AVCHD files PP CS5
            Birshed Level 1

Thanks Jeff.  I'll get on to IT and get a serial!

B

• 3. Re: No audio on imported AVCHD files PP CS5
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Bernard,