13 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2010 12:58 PM by badkatty00

Help with copying frames

badkatty00

Hi,

Thanks in advance for spending some time helping me with this issue. Im new to the Flash world

I am actually designing a website and need to copy frames from one page to another. The problem is that after pasting the frames in a different location I dont seem to be able to edit it without having the original frame change. Is there anyway I can copy frames (animation, buttons etc) and still be able to edit them without having the original frame change?

My intention is two have multiple pages with the same basic design but slight modification on each page.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Help with copying frames
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

there's no problem editing objects in pasted frames.  flash treats those objects the same as the objects in the original frames.

exactly what problem are you having?

• 2. Re: Help with copying frames
            badkatty00 Level 1

Thats exactly my problem - that flash is treating the pasted object the same as the original frame.

I want to be able to treat the new pasted objects independantly without flash propagating my change to the original object.

Thanks!

• 3. Re: Help with copying frames

you can edit objects in the pasted frames independently from the originals.  but if you double click or otherwise go to the objects "timeline", you'll be editing all instances of that object including the one(s) on the original frames.

to remedy, create duplicate objects and use the properites panel to swap the copied originals with the duplicates.  you can then edit the duplicates without editing the originals.

• 4. Re: Help with copying frames
                badkatty00 Level 1

Thanks so much kqlad - that worked. Its painstaking to duplicate all the symbols within a frame but I guess I have no choice

• 5. Re: Help with copying frames

you're welcome.