7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2011 10:55 AM by John A Mathias

PE7 - startup crash - Importeravi.prm

Admit One

I have been using this program for many months now and then yesterday all of a sudden it failed to start.  It would get as far as the initial screen where I selected "new project" and then chug along and got as far as drawing the workspace area (video window, timeline, etc) then boom.  Since I have Visual Studio on my machine, it popped up the Just-In-Time debugger window so I entered the debugger, and at the top of the call stack is importeravi.prm, and the crash error happened during a heapfree with return 0xc0000008.  Ug-ly.

After several tries at getting things going, I removed PE7, did a clean reinstall and *still* got the same problem.  This was looking really bad.  I said what the heck and just renamed importeravi.prm to see what would happen, after which the app came up w/o problem.  I did a little work as a test, created a DVD and burned it to folder, and thought okay I can do some stuff at least.

Next thing was to reproduce crash data to send to Adobe Tech Support.  So I restored the offending file and started up PE7, with the intent of capturing detailed crash info.  Well, now PE7 is coming up just fine, as far as I can tell!

I don't know how good I should be feeling.  Any ideas?

Thanks,

Ed

System info:

XP SP3 with all updates

Gigabyte EP45-UDR3

2 GB memory

NVIDIA graphics (EVGA 9800GT, 512 mb) driver 6.14.11.9621

Lots and lots of disk space (over 1 TB free)

... what am I leaving out here ...

• 1. Re: PE7 - startup crash - Importeravi.prm
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

It could be something as simple as an outdated version in Quicktime or a buggy nVidia driver. It's hard to say.

But glad to hear you've got it running again anyway?

• 2. Re: PE7 - startup crash - Importeravi.prm
            martinezdg

I believe I'm having the same issue.