6 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2010 9:43 AM by JETalmage-71mYin

Gradient fill is not smooth

avpromedia Level 1

I'm just learning illustrator CS4, though I have been using another vector drawing program for years.

When I zoom into a gradient filled rectangle created in CS4, I can see the boundaries between the color transitions. In the other vector program, I can fix this by increasing the bit depth from 8 to 16 bit (or something similar). How do I do this in illustrator?

• 1. Re: Gradient fill is not smooth
          Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

This is what I see and it looks smooth to me, is this what you see?

Screen shot 2010-05-05 at 11.03.38 AM.png

• 2. Re: Gradient fill is not smooth
            avpromedia Level 1

It is most definitely NOT smooth even to my naked eyes. To be sure, copy the image into photoshop and perform an unsharp mask. Set the amount to max and keep increaseing the radius. Eventually you will see many vertical stripes, like this:

gradient.jpg

• 3. Re: Gradient fill is not smooth
              Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

Well… I do not know how to evaluate this…performing an unsharp mask on a screenshot is kind of puzzling?

But I clearly cannot be of help to you.

• 4. Re: Gradient fill is not smooth
                Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

av,

The question is whether this is a matter of screen representation only, or real banding.

What happens if you Save As PDF (with the highest possible  File Compatibility) and view it in Acrobat/Reader?

• 5. Re: Gradient fill is not smooth
                  Mylenium Most Valuable Participant