8 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2010 12:02 PM by Chuck A. McIntyre

Building Computer for CS5 - Looking for suggestions

rawatts Level 1

The last computer I built was about 4 years ago.  I was an Adobe Premier Elements user and the latest version required the processor to have SSE instructions and my old computer did not.  History repeats because my AMD 4400+ will not work with my Blu Ray burner and will be getting CS5 on Monday.  I am a hobbyist and use CS4 mostly to make soccer DVDs for one of my son’s soccer teams. I make unedited game DVDs almost every week.  I usually make a highlight DVD once a year of the approximately 30 games for all 18 players.  Nothing too fancy – three tracks of video at the most and often two sound tracks.  Limited transitions, effects, color correction, etc.  I shoot in HD with a Canon XH A1. Up to now I use the camera to down convert to SD widescreen.  I am planning to start making Blu Rays with the new computer.  I also have a family Canon HD mini dv camera ( I make a family DVD each year – again nothing too elaborate).  I can see getting an avchd camera in a few years (tapes might be hard to find the way things are going).  I selected the motherboard for SATA 6 and USB 3.0.  Please let me know what you think.

New Computer:

Lian Li pc-a77f – case

Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R - motherboard

I7-930  just bought

GTX 480 but might inherit sons 260 or get by on my Nvidia Quadro fx3500 for now

Crucial 2GB BL25664BN1337  X 6 for 12GB

Rosewill 1000W RBR 1000-M  Power supply

Windows 7 64bit Ultimate – already have

VelociRaptor 600 for OS and CS5

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB Scratch Disk

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB X 4 Raid 5 for video files

LG GGW-H20L already own

• 1. Re: Building Computer for CS5 - Looking for suggestions
          shooternz Level 6

Cant imagine why you would not put in a video card that is not "supported"   - for MPE  especially considering your paln to get an AVCHD camera.