10 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2010 11:49 AM by the_wine_snob

Splicing Source Clips

ShotInLight

Hopefully the answer isn't obvious, as I failed at finding it via forum search and multiple bing/google attempts.

I am a Premiere Pro novice, but working on changing that.

My camcorder records AVCHD clips at roughly 2GB (11 minutes) each.

I recently recorded a series of readings at my son's school (about 17 in all).  Some of the children were nigh inaudible, so I'm trying to use Premiere Pro CS5 to up the gain on the sections that need it.  I actually think I have that part figured out.

The recording was about 22 minutes, spanning 2 MTS files.  I can load them as individual clips and create subclips from the clip panel for tweaking the gain as needed (I'm doing two clips per child, one for performance and one for applause, since the latter is plenty loud enough).

The annoyance I have is that the clip panel resets the time indicator to 0 when I switch to the second clip, and I'm using the sequence/program-monitor panels to navigate the full 22 minute duration (the waveform makes it easy to see applause and jump around), but am unable to make a subclip from my in/out markers in the Program Monitor

Is there a preferred method for joining two (or more) clips in sequence into one clip, so I can work on the full duration as a whole?

I'm currently watching Encoder do an export of the concatenated sequence, but I shudder to think that for every 11 minutes of recording, I need to spend an hour encoding an export simply so I can concatenate clips.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Splicing Source Clips
          dradeke Adobe Employee

I'd have to double check on our detailed AVCHD support, but many file based formats will do the same thing due to the formatting of the media on the camera.

We resolve this issue many times by browsing through the Media Browser panel instead of importing directly into the project.  Have you viewed and loaded the clips via the Media Browser?

Dennis