10 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2010 6:00 AM by scott1956

CS4: Layout conflict between Firefox & IE

scott1956 Level 1

I am a total newbie to Dreamweaver CS4, after years of doing table-based layouts in Frontpage.  So I'm sure there are plenty of other errors with the HTML or CSS code for the page below. But I've been stumped for about 24 hours now on why the page displays as I like in Firefox 3.6.3 and not in MSIE 7.0.xxx

I took Dreamweaver's 3 column fixed layout template and decided that below the three columns, I would like to add 3 more columns, each of equal width below the 3 upper columns. I wrote the CSS rules for the three lower columns (divs), left floating the lower left column, right floating the lower right column, no float for the lower middle column but enough margin for the lower middle column so that it clears the first column. I also did not set a width for the lower middle column, only for the two columns on each side of it. I put the same 270px graphic in each of those lower columns.

Here is the page:

http://firinglinedesign.com/pds/

The CSS is http://firinglinedesign.com/pds/main.css

If you look at the page in Firefox, those three lower columns look fine. If you look at it in MSIE, they don't. I ran a browser compatibility check and the page comes up with no issues. I also enabled "highlight invalid code" but nothing came up. But visually the page obviously has issues in MSIE ;(

If anyone can provide any input, I'd sure appreciate it.

Many thanks in advance.

Scott

• 1. Re: CS4: Layout conflict between Firefox & IE
          osgood_ Level 8

Float all three <divs> left. This gives a much more solid construction. Change your css to as below for the three <divs>

.thrColFixHdr #lowerLeftThird {
              float: left; /* since this element is floated, a width must be given */
              width: 270px;
              background-color: #FFF;
              padding-right: 10px;
              padding-left: 20px;

}