3 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2010 6:10 AM by the_wine_snob

Project No Longer Loads

Oboist314

I have been working on a project for several weeks. Two days ago I tried to load it to work on it but after the progress bar reaches 100%, it just sits there.

I tried starting another project and importing some video and it appears to work. The lost project represents weeks of work and I can't afford to spend that much time recreating it. I am using PrE 8 with an Intel 9650 Quad core, 8GB of ram. I have tried reinstalling PrE8, updating my video card driver, and looking for a similar problem in this Forum. I also tried loading all the backup project files, with the same results. I suspect there might be a problem with the project preferences file also, but I'm new to Windows 7 and I can't locate the prefs file equivalent. I let the program run trying to open the project for 24 hours but it just sits there. Anyone have a similar problem?

• 1. Re: Project No Longer Loads
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

First, a couple of questions:

1.) Have you updated PrE 8 to 8.0.1?

2.) Do you have the latest Apple QT Player upgrade?

3.) Have you also upgraded your audio driver, along with the video driver that you mention? Did you upgrade the video driver from the vid-card mfgr's. site?

4.) Have any of the Assets been Moved, or Renamed, since you last had the Project Open? Normally, this will result in a "Where is file XXXX?" dialog screen, but I have read of hangs on this step.

5.) Can you list the file types for the Assets in that Project?

This PrPro-Wiki FAQ Entry will list some steps for PrPro, one of which, Import Project, does not exist in PrE, but does mention using XML Wrench to check the XML integrity of the PREL file. I'd definitely try that.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Project No Longer Loads
            Oboist314 Level 1

Hello Bill,

Thanks for replying to my question.

Based on your advice, I tried: