5 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2010 1:38 AM by Graham vdR

Help! "Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference."

Graham vdR Level 1

Hi there

I'm relatively new to Flash, so this is probably a very basic question:

I'm getting this output when I test my file:

TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.
          at BillDavisWeb3_fla::MainTimeline/goScroll()

It appears when I navigate away from the frame that contains the target of the goScroll function, which is as follows:

function goScroll( evt ){
          if(thumbnails.x >-200 <580){
              thumbnails.x += moveAmount * moveDirection;
          }
      }

I would guess that Flash is looking for the "thumbnails" movie clip in order to check its x location for this function, and can't find it since it only appears on the one frame. Does this sound right? If so, how can I stop it from looking for it on the other frames? Or have I got it all wrong?

I would really appreciate any help. And please remember, I'm a noob, so the simpler the better!

Thanks.

(I'm using Flash CS3 on a Mac, AS3)

• 1. Re: Help! "Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference."
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Your assessment sounds about right.  One thing you could do, since that function only appears to involve the thumbnails object, is to not have that function implemented/used anywhere but the frame where the thumbnail object exists.  Another option could be to test if the object is null or not before trying to target it.

• 2. Re: Help! "Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference."
            Graham vdR Level 1

"One thing you could do, since that function only appears to involve the  thumbnails object, is to not have that function implemented/used  anywhere but the frame where the thumbnail object exists."