5 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2010 6:38 AM by Chuck A. McIntyre

Need advice: Souping up computer lab to use CS5

Factgathering2010 Level 1

Hi,

I am a college professor at a liberal arts university that is strongly committed to emerging media. In one of our teaching labs, we have sixteen computers that are used for web design, game design, video editing, and 3D animation. We recently upgraded our campus television station to HD, and our current systems are struggling to handle the most basic rendering tasks.

I'm trying to scope out replacement desktop systems for about $3,000 that would allow us to take maximum advantage of the new Adobe creative package. I've looked into the systems that Adobe is pushing to maximize the Mercury engine (http://www.adobe.com/products/creativesuite/production/performance/), and they don't really work for our needs. I'm also deeply suspicious of the Quadro FX graphics cards that Adobe and Nvidia are promoting. We bought these extremely expensive "workstation graphics cards" during previous upgrade cycles, and they were almost immediately made obsolete when the next generation of gaming graphics cards were released for a fraction of the price.

Here are our general specifications: We would like to purchase i7 systems that are running a 64 bit operating system and something like 16 gigabytes of RAM. We're hoping to purchase blazingly fast graphics card that deliver maximum high-definition video editing performance while ensuring that our games students are going to be in a good shape for the next few years. These don't need to be overpriced workstation cards. High-performing gaming cards would be just fine.