17 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2010 9:05 AM by Larry G. Schneider

Need to convert cmyk to two spots color!

Jofar1 Level 1

Hi!

I had a logo created, by a printing press, for me. The logo was created in illustrator CS4, I guess, and I was given the original .ai, .gif, .png, .tiff, and a pdf file.

I later sent the logo to another printing press to create a business card but they are having problem printing the logo unto the card. The their issue is that the logo has CMYK colors and they want a two spot color. The logo is made out of two colors, black & gold. I tried converting the color mode from CMYK to RGB but it seems that it didn't help.

I am a newbie to illustrator but how can I convert or create a two spot color in this case?

• 1. Re: Need to convert cmyk to two spots color!
          [scott] Level 6

Why not contact the original logo creator and ask them for a spot color version?

• 2. Re: Need to convert cmyk to two spots color!
            Jofar1 Level 1

I did and he told me to use the .tiff and .pdf files. I tried sending those two files too but it didn't help.

I do have Photoshop CS4; if I need to use it.

Message was edited by: Jofar1

• 3. Re: Need to convert cmyk to two spots color!
              JETalmage-71mYin Level 3

You should state what version of Illustrator you are using, and post an image of the artwork in question. Based on assumptions of solid-filled, unstroked vector paths, Windows OS with the AdobePDF virtual printer installed:

1. Open a copy of the .AI file in Illustrator. Make sure the document color mode is CMYK.

2. Swatches palette: DoubleClick the Black Swatch. In the resulting dialog, make sure it consists of 100% K and no other CMY components.

3. Swatches Palette Flyout Menu>Open Swatch Library>Color Books>Pantone Metallic Coated.

3.1. Stop to catch your breath.

3.2 Select a gold that suits you. When you click it, it should show up in the regular Swatches palette.

4. Select one of the black-filled paths.