10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2007 7:02 PM by Newsgroup_User

CFC not changing

hml398 Level 1
      I have an inherited program that has a CFC that was setup with the wrong ReturnType. So I changed the Returntype but the application doesn't seem to be recognizing the change. I even made some junky errors in the CFC to see if I was doing something wrong but it doesn't recognize those changes either. so obviously it isn't calling the CFC again. I am VERY new to using CFCs so I am not sure what I need to do to force the app to reinitialize or call the CFC again. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Under a bit of a time crunch :)
        • 1. Re: CFC not changing
          Dan Bracuk Level 5
          Perhaps the problem is with the template calling the cfc and not the cfc itself.
          • 2. Re: CFC not changing
            hml398 Level 1
            This is the error message I get back:

The value returned from function getThreadIdFromMessageId() is not of type struct.

This is the calling code: <cfset application.user.subscribe(request.user.username, application.thread.getThreadIdFromMessageId(msgid))>

This is the function in the .cfm

<cffunction name="getThreadIdFromMessageId" access="public" returnType="string" output="false"
            hint="Returns thread ID based on a message ID">
            <cfargument name="id" type="uuid" required="true">
            <cfset var qGetThread = "">

<cfquery name="qGetThread" datasource="#variables.dsn#">
            select A.threadidfk
            from #variables.tableprefix#messages A
            where A.id = <cfqueryparam value="#arguments.id#" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_VARCHAR" maxlength="35">
            </cfquery>

<!--- Throw if invalid id passed --->
            <cfif not qGetThread.recordCount>
            <cfset variables.utils.throw("ThreadCFC","Invalid message ID")>
            </cfif>

<cfreturn qGetThread.threadidfk>

</cffunction>

• 3. Re: CFC not changing
              CF_Oracle