2 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2010 10:42 AM by BigJohnD

Pixelated Images Printing

AJBlake

I am new to Pagemaker and Im trying to create a little flyer for my youth group. The images are all jpegs, and when I use the 'Place' option they were showing up fuzzy. So I changed the view to 'high resolution' and now they look great on screen. But, when I go to print them out they are still fuzzy. What am I doing wrong?

• 1. Re: Pixelated Images Printing
          Michael Gianino Level 4

It's been so long since I've used PageMaker that I don't remember whether printing files with placed jpegs to a non-PostScript printer sends the jpeg data or the preview. Other image filetypes like eps would send the actual eps data to a PostScript printer, but only the preview (the portion of the image that displays in PM) to a non-PostScript printer like most inkjets. The solution is to print the PM file to a virtual printer to create a PostScript file, and use Distiller to change the PostScript into a PDF, which if done correctly, will produce a PDF with all of the image data that can be printed to a non-PostScript printer.

Whether your (presumably) newer computer with a newer operating system can print to a PostScript file or not I couldn't say. I've always used Macs, so I don't know how to do it in Windows (any flavor). Since you are new to PageMaker, may I suggest you check out InDesign. It is the successor to PageMaker, and works very similarly, only better. You can download a trial version to see if you like it. I think the trial version works for 30 days, then stops working until you enter a serial number (that you would get if you bought it).

• 2. Re: Pixelated Images Printing
            BigJohnD Level 3

At guess, you're using low-rez (i.e. screen rez) JPG images.

TIFF is preferred format for quality output.