3 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2010 10:48 PM by BhaskerChari

change base view state from a custom component

dasun1981 Level 1

I'm pretty new to flex and I'm having a small issue in change the view state from a component.

My Application have 2 custom components called userlogin and main menu. In the main application page I have userlogin component in one state and the main menu component in another. I'm trying to change the state if the login in successful from user login to main menu. I have the following function written inside the login component.

private function IsUserLoggedIn(evt:ResultEvent):void
                  {
                      if (evt.result.islogin.toString() == "true")
                      {
                          currentState = "MainMenu";
                      }
                      else
                      {
                          Alert.show("Login failed, please try again.", "Login Failed");
                      }
                  }

This code worked when I had all the controls in the main page. But then I created components and included them in to components and now when the login is success, its giving the following error.

ArgumentError: Undefined state 'MainMenu'.
          at mx.core::UIComponent/getState()[E:\dev\4.0.0\frameworks\projects\framework\src\mx\core\UI Component.as:9908]
          at mx.core::UIComponent/findCommonBaseState()[E:\dev\4.0.0\frameworks\projects\framework\src \mx\core\UIComponent.as:9928]
          at mx.core::UIComponent/commitCurrentState()[E:\dev\4.0.0\frameworks\projects\framework\src\ mx\core\UIComponent.as:9750]
          at mx.core::UIComponent/setCurrentState()[E:\dev\4.0.0\frameworks\projects\framework\src\mx\ core\UIComponent.as:9701]
          at mx.core::UIComponent/set currentState()[E:\dev\4.0.0\frameworks\projects\framework\src\mx\core\UIComponent.as:6087 ]