9 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2010 3:16 PM by pebalsamo

Problem with clip order

rmoz

This is both a question and request for suggestions.
      I'm very new to using Premier Pro CS4 having used VideoStudio for a long time. But due to a mutitude of bugs and constant crashes I just gave up on it and made the switch to Premiere.

I've start putting together projects formed from AVCHD clips. My camera creates each scene as a file. With VideoStudio I had to use TSmuxeR to merge them into a single clip otherwise it would just fall over plus take hours (literaly) to start because it wanted to check each clip. WHen you have hunderds in a project this is a problem.

Premier handles this much better doing things in the background but I've had some issues with clips getting reordered. Maybe my whole approach is just wrong and I'm open to suggestions.

As an example, I break the clips up into segments which relate to a subject and put those into a bin. So in a project I might have 700 clips in 10 bins with 50 to 100 clips in each bin. And I might have a dozen projects which make up a "production". But when I import the clips (this is windows) the last clip always gets to be the first imported. This is a common windows problem which I don't know how to get around. In any case, when it gets imported I then reorder the clips. The name of the clips coming off the camera is a date time code like 20100514082312.mts which is unique and you can order by date very easily but it is really hard to read.

The problem I seem to have if I take a bin (that'sbeen sorted) and drag it to the timeline, the last clip always gets inserted first. I'm guessing that Premier is remembering the order the clips got imported and not how I sort them in the bins.

Since I tend to move things around a lot it's a hassle to keep deting the first clips then put on the end of the sequence etc.