4 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2010 9:38 AM by Scott Chichelli

Best way to work w/computer builder???

hewiepro

i am a relative newbie and am

about to get a new system for working w/cs5.

i want to be able to do hd..but nothing too fancy (weddings,sports,training...usual beginning videographer stuff).

i can go along w/harm's advice that the dells and hps etc. will overcharge for the upgrades etc....but i don't want to build it myself...how do i approach and deal with a computer builder...can anyone recommend one....what should i look out for and how can i know they know what they are talking about...

thx in advance...

p.s.  ... am working w/@ $3k.

• 1. Re: Best way to work w/computer builder???
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Make two lists of components, one the really good one and the second with one of two suboptimal components and ask the builder which he would prefer for your application. If they can't find the shortcomings for your purpose, they are no good. For the rest, trust their reputation.

List 1: i7-930, GTX-480, Velociraptor, 4 disks, etc.

List 2: i7-980X, HD5970, SSD, 3 disks, etc.

If they can't see that list 1 is good and list 2 is not, they are in the wrong business for your purposes.

• 2. Re: Best way to work w/computer builder???
            Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Well it seem to me that we built at least two systems recently on this forum that were $3k targets.  Read those posts and educate your self and then submit the final list here for comments.  Leave the builder a some room to pay for his services.  As you can see from the true confessions it does pay to work with a semi-local builder.

• 3. Re: Best way to work w/computer builder???
              the_wine_snob Level 9

I have always done things a little bit differently from Harm's suggestion, but do see the value of that.