7 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2010 7:05 PM by Mwaj-Triangle

Discecting an image using clipping masks

Mwaj-Triangle

Hello,

I've created a vector object in rhino, that i'd like to use as a clipping mask to divide a jpg image into a lot of differnt pieces, I don't want to occlude any part of the image only to divide it into many differnt sections that could each be manipulated individually, almost as if it was a giant cutting die. I've read tutorials on using the clipping mask tool with groups rather than a single objects, but whatever I do  it just removes part of the image that  I'm working on and just leaves the rest alone un-cut. I'm pretty new to Illustrator so... er, help.

Many thanks,

Me

• 1. Re: Discecting an image using clipping masks
          JETalmage-71mYin Level 3

Can't follow you. Post a screenshot of what you've got so someone can understand what you're trying to do. State what version of Illustrator you are using.

A "vector object" can be many things. Clipping masks don't "divide" anything, least of all raster images. They merely mask portions of their content. There is no clipping mask tool per se.

JET

• 2. Re: Discecting an image using clipping masks
            Mwaj-Triangle Level 1

Unfortunately I can't post a screen shot, the work I'm doing is part of a research project into computer based art being run by a professor who's hired me to help him figure things out

I'm using CS 3, but can get access to CS4 if that would work better for what I'm trying to do. If clipping masks don't actually cut anything then maybe I need to look into another command, is there a command that will cut a raster obect using vector lines?

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Discecting an image using clipping masks
              Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

This is not something you want to do n Illustrator, i think there is a plug in for photoshop that does this though I am not certain.

• 4. Re: Discecting an image using clipping masks
                JETalmage-71mYin Level 3