6 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2010 1:47 PM by Brian5088

Change Project Settings in an Existing Project

Brian5088 Level 1

Is there a way to change the Project Settings (from standard format to wide screen) once a project has been started?  I have several projects that were started with the incorrect settings and need to revise them to show in Wide screen format.  I see that the project's .prel file will open in wordpad and thought that there may be a way to change the setting from there.  Is that possible?

Any suggestions would be greatly apricated, this will save 100 or more hours of re-editing.

Thanks,

Brian

• 1. Re: Change Project Settings in an Existing Project
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Brian,

Basically, no.

However, there seem to be hacks for the PREL, the Project file. I have no direct experience in this method, and would urge one to ONLY work on a copy of their PREL, in case something goes very wrong. The PREL is basically an XML database, with links and instructions. It can be edited in WordPad, NotePad, or any XML editing program. One just needs to choose Open, and then "All Files" for the File Type drop-down in the dialog screen.

ATR, a trusted contributor to this forum, has posted the instructions, and the value changes to accomplish this. He posted this info very recently in a thread in this forum. You might want to Search for "project preset," and maybe even filter on "ATR," in People. Also, I commented on that thread, so you could filter on "Bill Hunt" too.

If I can find that thread, I will furnish a link to it.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Change Project Settings in an Existing Project
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Take a look at the link that ATR furnished in this THREAD.

Good luck, and hope that it works for you.

Hunt

• 3. Re: Change Project Settings in an Existing Project
              Brian5088 Level 1