7 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2010 11:44 AM by Todd_Kopriva

Align Masks

carusomat

I'm trying to create a mask that will hollow out the center of a circle and I can't seem to align the circular mask perfectly within the original circle. Is there a way to automatically align a mask to its parent object?

For that matter, I'm a beginner and am wondering about any alignment options in AE period.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Align Masks
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

>  I'm trying to create a mask that will hollow out the center of a circle and I can't seem to align the circular mask perfectly within the original circle. Is there a way to automatically align a mask to its parent object?

If I needed to center something within a circle, I'd turn on the rulers or grid and use them to find the center of the circle and then draw the mask from the center. When you draw a circular mask, holding Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) will make the circle scale around the center as you drag. See "Create a shape or mask by drawing with shape tools".

>  For that matter, I'm a beginner and am wondering about any alignment options in AE period.

See this page of After Effects Help:

"Align or distribute layers in 2D space"

You can find things like this with the search feature built into After Effects. (Look in the upper-right corner of the application window.) For example:

After Effects Community Help search for 'align'

If you're new to After Effects, then I strongly recommend that you start here:

"Getting started with After Effects"

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Align Masks
            carusomat Level 1

It's nice to now have the align tools, but it still doesn't help me align the mask within the object itself. I can't seem to find the actual coordinates of the mask, either.

• 3. Re: Align Masks
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Here's what I'd do.