5 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2010 8:57 AM by scott1956

Different style sheets for multiple accordians?

scott1956 Level 1

I'm a Dreamweaver CS4 newbie and have just added my first accordian to a webpage. I modified the accordian's stylesheet and it looks and works just the way I want it. My questions is this:

If I want to install an accordian with different styling on a different page on the same site, when I insert the accordian on the second page, will Dreamweaver automatically generate a new stylesheeet with a different name for the second accordian? Or will the new accordian automatically adopt (or overwrite) the styles from the first one?

I appreciate your advice.

Thanks,

Scott

• 1. Re: Different style sheets for multiple accordians?
          Randy Edmunds Adobe Employee

Scott,

I'm a Dreamweaver CS4 newbie and have just added my first accordian to a webpage. I modified the accordian's stylesheet and it looks and works just the way I want it. My questions is this:

If I want to install an accordian with different styling on a different page on the same site, when I insert the accordian on the second page, will Dreamweaver automatically generate a new stylesheeet with a different name for the second accordian? Or will the new accordian automatically adopt (or overwrite) the styles from the first one?

I think it's safest to never update the original accordian style sheet. That way you can always get back to the original. Instead, create a new style sheet that overrides the necessary rules of the original and attach it after the original wherever you want the different one.

HTH,

Randy

• 3. Re: Different style sheets for multiple accordians?
            scott1956 Level 1

Thanks for your reply, Randy. I'm sorry to be a little slow on this, but I want to be sure I understand what you're saying.

If I add this second accordian to a second page, by default will it adopt the same stylesheet that I created and modified for my first accordian?