3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2007 9:27 PM by Newsgroup_User

email response from form

DaveWerbelo
      Hi,

I am an absolute beginner at this ---so please be kind.

I am simply trying to place a form to solicitate email addresses from my customers on a site i am creating. The creation of the form was simple, however I can't figure out how to get the responses emailed back to me. Additionally I would like to re-direct the responders to the form to a different page on my site. can someone please help

Thanks!!!
        • 1. email response from form
          TC2112 Level 1
          Hi Dave,

There are a number of ways to do this.
          The best option (IMHO) is to use server side code such as PHP, ASP, ColdFusion, CGI Perl, ...
          As you are a beginner, I think your best bet is to see if your hosting company has a "FormMail" script.
          They are usually included with your hosting, already set up and ready to go with easy instruction on how to "connect" your form.

For example, your host may have a script called FormMail.ASP already sitting on your server. (Or FormMali.PHP and so on)
          The instructions to use it will likely have you add a few lines of code to your form, then open the ASP file and add your email address.

You can also do a search here for "Form Mail" and get many results. There's a lot of info there.

Take care,
          Tim
          • 2. Re: email response from form
            dreamx.0
            quote:

Originally posted by: DaveWerbelo
            Hi,

I am an absolute beginner at this ---so please be kind.

I am simply trying to place a form to solicitate email addresses from my customers on a site i am creating. The creation of the form was simple, however I can't figure out how to get the responses emailed back to me. Additionally I would like to re-direct the responders to the form to a different page on my site. can someone please help

Thanks!!!