5 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2010 7:31 AM by joe bloe premiere

Laptop for CS4 non HD editing

scottymo15 Level 1

Ok....I know there have been several conversations about what laptop to get if you are wanting to video edit with CS4.  I have read many of them and would like a few more suggestions.

I just built a new desktop, and that is going to be my primary work station.  I am a 6th grade teacher and most of my work is done for my school.  I have time during the day in which I can edit......but I don't have a computer here that can handle CS4.

I was wanting to get a laptop so that I can edit some videos at school.

I looked at the Sager website and I looked at this link to ASUS  http://www.powernotebooks.com/ASUS-G73JH-gaming-laptops-notebooks-sys-3114.html

I am not going to do any HD editing and was wondering if you guys thought i could get away with getting a decent laptop for 1500 dollars.  My wife wants me to get a mac book pro or imac that I can just move to school when I need....but I wasn't wanting to go that route.

What do you guys think?

My other question is this.......will I be able to start a project on the laptop and then transport it over to my more powerful desktop to edit things?  Can this be done via an external hard drive?

Looking forward to hearing your answers.

Thanks a ton!

Mo

• 1. Re: Laptop for CS4 non HD editing
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Look like a perfectly good laptop for your purposes, and it can even be quite acceptabe for HDV. Seems like a good buy:

Nice specs

Fits in your budget

Sager is very good

Nice display.

IMO you can't go wrong with this one.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Laptop for CS4 non HD editing
            Chuck A. McIntyre Level 3

Two Sagers here...Go Sager!!

• 3. Re: Laptop for CS4 non HD editing
              joe bloe premiere Level 5

Three Sagers here... perfect for SD!

(If you don't mind lifting and carrying them),

• 4. Re: Laptop for CS4 non HD editing