5 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2010 2:27 PM by Zabeth69

Question about editing a template and pages/navigation

dreamweaverlearner99

I am brand new to using dream weaver and am trying to build a web site.  I really want to learn how to use this because it looks so much nicer than a wordpress built site which is what I have done in the past.  My question is, I founded a dreamweaver template online that I downloaded.  It already has "Home, About Us, Contact Us, etc..." I first clicked on each link and renamed it what I wanted it to be called and then went to the link box and named it.  I did this for all of the links and then clicked save.  Then I did "save as" on that same page and named them all of the different pages (about us, contact us, etc...).  Ok long story short, the index page looks great just like I want it to.  The problem is when I click on preview in dreamweaver...it shows up normally for the index page but then if I try to click on "about us" from the index preview page when it takes me to the "about us" page it shows my links in bullet format and words all misarranged on the page.  It's like there is no holder for the header or side bar or footer, only the text.  I am stumpped at what I am doing wrong.  I have tried to re-do this three times the past three nights in a row and am going crazy trying to figure out what it is that I am doing wrong.  What's so strange is that if I go to the "about us" page and click on preview then it appears fine, just like the "index" page did and when I try to click on home or aka index it appears the same unorganized way it did viewing from the home page.  Can anyone give me some direction as to what part of the css or html I need to look in to see if something might be missing?  I do not want to publish this to the web site online if it will look like this.

• 1. Re: Question about editing a template and pages/navigation
          Zabeth69 Level 5

Welcome to the Dreamweaver Forum!