4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2010 2:22 AM by Philarmon

Problems with Akamai Streams

Hi !

I am new to OSMF and i love it. However, i can not get the Akamai streams to work properly.

If i understood it correctly, OSMF should play the Akamai streams even without any plugins ( http://forums.adobe.com/message/2636240#2636240 )

My player plays "normal" streams and progressive downloads just fine, but if i try an Akamai stream, i am first getting the MediaStateChangeEvent with "ready" and then a MediaStateChangeEvent with "playbackError". After that i am getting a MediaError with errorcode 16 (Stream not found)

I am trying to connect just like i do for all other streams:

var resource:URLResource = new URLResource(streamURL);
      var mediaElement:MediaElement =  _mediaFactory.createMediaElement(resource);

_mediaPlayer.media = mediaElement;

As i said, it works fine with normal streams (so my player works) and the same Akamai streams are playing fine in other players (for example, the Akamai test player) so the stream URLs are also fine.

please help

One more question regarding the plugins - if i would need to play secure Akamai streams, then i still would need the plugin, right ? And for dynamic streaming i still need the SMIL plugin ?

Thank you !

• 1. Re: Problems with Akamai Streams

Is the problem stream live or vod?  Are they secure streams?

If you put put the token on the URL as query params it will play fine without the Akamai plugin loaded.  If you want to attach the token as resource metadata, you'll need to load the plugin. The AkamaiPluginSample app might be a good place to start trouble shooting.

I would recommend you use the Akamai plugin.  It sets optimal buffer lengths, handles connect-level and stream-level auth, and knows how to recover from primary and secondary encoder crashes for live streams.