9 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2010 8:05 PM by the_wine_snob

Constant crashing very frustrated for amateur

mrl2

I am new to video editing, but not a stranger to Adobe photo editing products, including Photoshop and Lightroom, which I use, to a greater or lesser extent, without problem.  I have a 4-month old computer, running Windows 7, with 9gb of RAM.  I have updated to Premiere Elements 8.1 (although the splash screen insists on telling me to do it again).  I have the most recent drivers.  And the program constantly crashes.  I have experienced occasional crashes with other programs, of course, but here it seems to be the default behavior.

I have read the suggestions in the forum.  I am not computer-savvy enough to try them all, nor do I have much interest in doing so in order to use what I assumed would be a consumer (amateur)-level product.  I find it very frustrating to have to waste as much time as I have and to lose edits -- constantly.

However, I'm not ready to give up, now that I've taken the time to learn how to do basic stuff (and I'm not aware of any other product out there that would be as learnable).  So my question is whether there's some easy fix that I'm missing.  For example, I saw somewhere on the Internet that someone suggested putting the video files on an external drive.  I'm not savvy enough to know why that would matter, but if it would, I'm all for it.

Any ideas?

If it matters, I've been trying to edit a one-hour long video consisting of an old VCR tape that I've put into digital format using Roxio hardware and software.  My crashes come at all points (although no longer at the startup of the program -- I used to get them then until I unchecked some box that someone suggested I uncheck).

Thanks for any suggestions.

• 1. Re: Constant crashing very frustrated for amateur
          mrl2 Level 1

Oops.  Title should say "very frustrating."

• 2. Re: Constant crashing very frustrated for amateur