8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2010 1:27 PM by JaysonM-Y

DV not working for me

aquafrook99

Hi everyone, I am new to this so please ignore my newb questions. I just transfered some video from my Panasonic HVX100 onto a friends Mac. I used his mac because I dont have firewire on my PC.

I then transfered the .dv files to my PC and was ready to start editing in Premiere Pro. But when I tried to open the .dv files it gave me an error telling me that it is not supported. How can I get premiere pro to recognize my .dv files? I even tried Windows Movie Maker and it wont recognize them either. Neither does Quicktime

• 1. Re: DV not working for me
          Harm Millaard Level 7

If you don't have firewire connections, your system is probably not suited for editing.

.DV files are not supported, You need to get a more decent PC to use CSx.

• 2. Re: DV not working for me
            Stan Jones Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Technically, .dv files are supported (here CS5: http://help.adobe.com/en_US/premierepro/cs/using/WSd79b3ca3b623cac97fa024001235833a568-800 0.html).

Even though it does not list .dv as one of the examples, .dv is a container, and your success will depend on having the right codec installed in the right place for Premiere to use it.  I have had only grief trying to use files from a friend's system.  I do believe that it is possible, but I have no seen a simple "1, 2, 3" set of steps to use such files on any PC.

So, yes, supported; no, not easily.  (And please, someone who has the 1, 2, 3 down, tell me  how.)

I would add a firewire card.  If not possible, I would find a friend with a PC and firewire.  If you end up using something like Windows Movie Maker to transfer the files, be sure to get the format right.  I think WMM makes the DV AVI Type 1 and you need Type 2.  (There's an easy convertor for that.)  I mention this one example, because you need to research your workflow before jumping in.

• 3. Re: DV not working for me