2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2007 9:00 AM by dampx

New to CS3

dampx
      Hello, im fairly new to the whole CS3 scene but i bought web premium, and ive watched nearly all of the video's in the video workshop for all the products i use including Fireworks and Photoshop.

So far from what im seeing, everything looks like its easier to do in photoshop then in fireworks. Ive been using Photoshop for years so im not too bad with it.

My issue here is that after watching the video's for Fireworks, it looked like i can pretty much create my website in photoshop, and then open it up with the same layers all intact in fireworks and add interactivity to my website, then convert it to a web format and make it my website. But the problem is im not too certain you can do this anymore.

Ive made a small site, and i have put in some input boxes and a submit button, and everything works except the input boxes. They always come in as part of the JPG image.

If i choose to save it as flash file, all my layers become visible and the thing looks really really really bad!

Apparently im doing something wrong, or im wrong about the functions of fireworks and i should be using something else instead.

Any comments, and help would be greatly appreciated, thank you
        • 1. Re: New to CS3
          Level 7
          dampx wrote:
          > So far from what im seeing, everything looks like its easier to do in
          > photoshop then in fireworks. Ive been using Photoshop for years so im not too
          > bad with it.

Actually, for most of us here it's exactly the opposite. Everything is
          easier and more flexible in Fireworks :-) The first thing you should do
          is forget about Photoshop when you're working in Fireworks. They are
          very different kinds of applications and Fireworks's workflow is much
          more akin to Illustrator's than Photoshop.

> My issue here is that after watching the video's for Fireworks, it looked like