20 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2007 4:20 AM by Newsgroup_User

WMV video in Director

NikkyD_Designs
      Hi, and thanks in advance to anyone who can help me!

I have a video (which HAS to be WMV) in my director file, and i need to create buttons for play, stop, fast forward, rewind, back to begining and to alter the sound.

i tried using behavious on the sprites I made but as im using a windows media video they wouldnt work.

I've managed to get the coding for the play and stop buttons working with..

on mouseUp me
      sprite("topup").play()
      end

but im not sure for the rest of the buttons, and especially the sound.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to lingo and behaviour scripting, so sorry if this is a stupidly easy question!

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I have the worst client im doing this for and hes really bearing down my neck!! :(

Many Thanks

Nikky
        • 1. Re: WMV video in Director
          Applied CD Level 1
          Hi Nikky,

We use wmv (and mpg for that matter) all the time, but we play them back through MPEG Advance Xtra ( http://xtras.tabuleiro.com/) The following scripts may work even without the xtra, they’re fairly generic (ie: they use standard lingo, no extensions provided by the xtra). Unlike QT video, MPEG Advance Xtra does not support reverse playback (ie, negative movieRate) The following examples assume your video sprite is named "topup", the behaviors would be attached to various button images or text.

Play:
          on mouseUp me
          sprite("topup").movieRate = 1
          end

Pause/Stop:
          on mouseUp me
          sprite("topup").movieRate = 0
          end

Rewind to start (and resume playing):
          on mouseUp me
          sprite("topup").movieTime = 0
          sprite("topup").movieRate = 1
          end

Fast Forward (2x is max):
          on mouseUp me
          sprite("topup").movieRate = 2
          end

Slow Motion Forward:
          on mouseUp me