2 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2010 11:24 AM by raphaelP

Best format to export in order to encode using a third party tool?

raphaelP Level 1

Hello,

I am trying to export a movie I cut. I want to have a high quality uncompressed file that I can transcode using a third party app (which I've had better luck with than AME). So far I have tried AVI's with 100 quality, no compression, RLE, and they look terrible. FIle size is not an issue at this point. Its a 3 minute clip that looks horrible and blocky and 2 gigs large. Sorry I am still learning premiere.

• 1. Re: Best format to export in order to encode using a third party tool?
          shooternz Level 6

You would be better off addressing the issue why you are not having "success" with AME

I can assure you that it works perfectly properly as it should. (all other factors considered)

Drop some details on us - like what vers CS? and what your hardware is,  and what your workflow and source material is.

• 2. Re: Best format to export in order to encode using a third party tool?
            raphaelP Level 1

Well I have been encoding clips for web since CS3. At the time I was trying

to encode h.264 mp4's or quicktimes from premiere or from after effects.

Perhaps I wasn't setting the encoding right but I was getting relatively

larg files and or disappointing quality encodes. I then learned to export a

quicktime with animation codec, at high quality, and transcode it using MPEG

streamclip or Handbrake. They did a superb job and I had an easier time and

a lot of control with the  h264 settings in these programs. It was just an

extra step.

Now that I am on CS5, its actually the first time I use Adobe Media Encoder.

So perhaps it does a good job, and I just haven't figured it out yet. I am

testing out some settings at the moment, trying to find a similar

configuration from Handrake, to see how AME handles it, because if it works

well it would be sweet.