0 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2010 2:38 PM by Tobianna

Export settings for RealMedia

Tobianna

Hello everybody

I use PR Pro 1.5 and I created a short video (a collection of .avi source files that lasts no longer than 4 mn) that I need to export in various formats :

WMP and RealMedia for the web, and then AVI, QT and MPEG1 for cdroms, Knowing that the video is meant to be seen by a large audience, and that the original avi files properties are as follows : 720*576, audio rate=1024 kbps, 16 bits, PCM and video image rate 25/s, 29200kbps.

I am really new to all the concepts regarding audio and video codecs, time frame, bit rate etc. so I am a bit at a loss with the export settings.

So far, for each of these formats, my guess would be as shown below :

RealMedia for the web : export / adobe media encoder

1. codec : "RM9 NTSC download "32"," 62", "128" or "256 "? I don’t know which to choose or why. And just because 256 seems familiar, this is what I would select.
      2. a- for the “Band width” I’d pick up the “56 dial-up” settings because of the large audience it is aiming at, ..
        b- as for the “band width rate” I can choose between “variable” (average or high quality) or “continuous”, I’d pick “variable (average) because of the diversity of the audience connectivity
        c- and then I have to choose the rate values (default values go from 700 max to 200 average), and here I really have no idea,
        d- Then I have two drop down menus (for video and audio), first for a voice codec : there aren’t any voice on my video, so I’d pick the lowest value = 5kbps, second for a music codec : there’s a mp3 soundtrack on my video (rate: 200kbps, 2(stereo) and 44KHz), so I’d go for the “176kbps stereo music” selection in the drop down list, but I keep wondering why not “176 kbps audio surrounding”, or maybe it could be a lower or a higher rate.