7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2010 5:48 PM by Ali_NY

INSERT MP3 PLAYER

maxstudio1 Level 1

Is it possible to insert a mp3 player like this http://activeden.net/item/2-mode-mp3-player-black/full_screen_preview/25911? I try to do it, the player appears in the Catalyst CS5 program, but it doesn't work on the web..

I am a beginner. I believe that it is because I have not copied the audio content on ftp. Sorry for my lousy english.. Can you help me? it would be appreciated! Thank you

Max!

• 1. Re: INSERT MP3 PLAYER
          SMAKDIGITAL

Good luck getting anyone from Adobe to answer you.

• 2. Re: INSERT MP3 PLAYER
            Peter Flynn (Adobe) Adobe Employee

Ye of little faith, SMAKDIGITAL   Adobe engineers from the Flash Catalyst team regularly monitor this forum and answer many, if not most, of the questions posed on it.

Max,

You can build a simple MP3 player yourself within Catalyst, which gives you far more control over the visual appearance of the player.  See this thread for more.

You may also be able to use a pre-packaged solution like the one you linked to -- depending on how it's constructed.  The most important thing is to make sure the player can find the audio and playlist assets that it needs.  I assume you tried exporting a SWF of the raw MP3 player from Flash Pro, based on the FLA file you bought, and that worked properly?  How did you set that up with a playlist of audio files?

If you needed to write some ActionScript code to give the widget a list of .mp3 files, you might need to do something like this.

If the .mp3 files simply sit in a folder next to the .swf, then you need to make sure those files are next to your final Catalyst .swf also.  To do this:

1. Create a Catalyst project
            2. Import your MP3 player .swf into the project, and position it as desired within your larger site/application layout