4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2007 2:21 PM by thespin

Seeking overall advice from web developers using Dreamweaver

christylh8
      I'm a fairly new web designer with skills based mainly in HTML and CSS (externally linked) and style statements only, however I have a big project ahead. My company will be asking me to develop a database-driven, login-only website (we are wholesale only and our customers require a state tax resale ID in order to even be able to purchase from us.)

I wish to continue using Dreamweaver however I do not know if I need to learn PHP, ASP or SQL/MySQL for this scale of project. I fully expect we will be hosted on a Windows server, but we have not chosen an ecommerce software yet so I don't know what I should expect.

I am prepared to learn whatever works best at a cross-platform capacity for our Mac users when we have some custom Flash applets developed to integrate in.

If you were just getting started from ground zero, what would you do? What would you recommend I invest my time learning?
        • 1. Re: Seeking overall advice from web developers using Dreamweaver
          Level 7
          Linux server - php/MySQL
          Windows server - asp or asp.net and SQL

Ecom software - Cartweaver in the scripting language best supported by your
          server.

Best of luck,
          --Nancy O.
          Alt-Web Design & Publishing
          www.alt-web.com

"christylh8" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:f9pr8s$dcu$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > I'm a fairly new web designer with skills based mainly in HTML and CSS
          > (externally linked) and style statements only, however I have a big
          project
          > ahead. My company will be asking me to develop a database-driven,
          login-only
          > website (we are wholesale only and our customers require a state tax
          resale ID
          > in order to even be able to purchase from us.)
          >