5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2010 4:58 AM by Veivster

Need help on cutcontour

Veivster Level 1

Hey.

Im pretty new to this. And i need a step by step explanation how to make a cutcontour around a logo.

I have Illustrator CS4, and the printer is OCÈ CS9160, and after the printing is done the file shall be stent to the cutter wich is a MUTOH SC-PRO 1400.

I am using the pen-tool to draw around the logo, and i open the swatch-palette, new swatch, CutContour, spotcolor, saving it as a .EPS file in the old Illustrator 8 version. But it wont cut the file at all... What am i doing wrong? I dont know.

Please, if someone could help me.

PS: Sorry for bad english, but i am from Norway.

• 1. Re: Need help on cutcontour
          JETalmage Level 6

Understand: Terms like "cutcontour" mean nothing to most Illustrator users. It's not an Illustrator term. It's just the name of a spot color that your cutter instructions (I assume) are telling you to use so that whatever driver software you are using for your cutter can use that spot color name as a "flag" to identify which path(s) to cut. Most users here have never used Illustrator for cutting on a plotter.

You have not described your complete workflow. You didn't say you applied the spot color named CutContour to your path's stroke. You said you're then exporting the file as an Illustrator 8 EPS, but you said nothing about what software you are then importing the EPS into. It's unlikely that anyone here is going to know anything about that specific software, unless someone just happens to be using the same cutter/driver combination.

I don't have your specific cutter, but have done similar cutting on Rowland  devices. These are the thoughts that occur to me:

Some cutting software expects the cut path to not only be a specific spot color, but also within a particular stroke weight range. Read your instructions on your cutting software.