11 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2010 10:34 AM by UbuntuPenguin

Messaging system design pattern

archemedia Level 4

Hi,

I'm working on a messaging system build into my application.

As a system administrator, I create messages for all the users. When a user logs in, I want unread messages to be displayed so I have to keep track of wich user read or didn't read newly created messages.

The simplest way would be to keep track of which message was read by which user but that would increment my database until the end of time (or at least until 2012 )

I would think that it's better to keep track of which user didn't read which message but then things would get complicated when a message is deleted.

Also, should I store the user with the message or should I store the messages with the user?

Does anyone have experience on this? Any suggestions?

It's not a technical problem but an architectural one.

Thanks,

Dany

• 1. Re: Messaging system design pattern
          Gregor.Kiddie Level 2

You're right, tracking which user hasn't seen which message is the better way to do it.

Also, don't physically delete your messages. Do a logical delete instead. You still probably want user's to see messages which are out of date (unless they are of the Server down, server back up variety), so you should still retrieve deleted messages for user's who haven't yet seen them.

In reality, you shouldn't ever do a physical delete on a piece of data. How can you ever have a proper audit if information is gone?

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Messaging system design pattern
            archemedia Level 4

Thx for the answer Gregor.

You mention an interesting topic: '...In reality, you shouldn't ever do a physical delete on a piece of data...'

Doesn't this approach leave you with enormous amounts of redundant data??

Dany

• 3. Re: Messaging system design pattern
              UbuntuPenguin Level 4