13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2010 11:13 AM by sourceofdenial

Button Design Question

sourceofdenial

I'm new to flash--I was hoping to do this in Fireworks, but because of the nested buttons, it doesnt look possible.

This is what I'm trying to do.  I'm looking for general tips on how to set this up--I'm reading 'Learning Flash CS4 Professional' and doing the tutorials, but what I'm asking is a little different than whats in the book, and I don't yet have the knowledge to make the leap myself.

On the stage I want 3 buttons on the side.  When you click on each of those buttons, it's respective image pops up in the middle of the stage(3 buttons, 3 images).  THen, you can mouse over to each of those images which are labeled, and when you move th emouse over the label, the label changes to different text.  This is for a rudimentary virtual microscope with each button corresponding to 4x, 10x, 40x magnification, the images are the slide images, and the labels are of things like cell bodies, chromatin, etc. THe goal being the student can click on each magnification, see the slide image with labels, and when he/she mouses over the labels, they change to text identifying the cell part.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

• 1. Re: Button Design Question
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Here's one approach...  Make the labels as button symbols so that you can place the different text in the different frames.  That way you won't have to code the buttons.  Place these buttons into consecutive frames of a movieclip, each with the image that it accompanies, with stop(); commands in each frame.  Have the buttons to the left side tell that movieclip which frame to go to.  If the images are not showing at first, then include a command to set the movieclip to be invisible at first, then have the buttons turn it visible along with commanding which frame to go to.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Button Design Question