9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2007 9:12 AM by destind4film

OT - Advice on building up Web business

destind4film Level 1
      So I am pretty new to web design...designed a few sites so far in the last year and I am working on a couple others currently...But everything has thus far been for friends and family with no return other than my own satisfaction and knowledge gain...

I would really love to be able to focus 100% of my time to web design and I am a fairly creative person (better at creating the Photoshop layouts and graphics than the coding of the actual site especially with working with DIVs and floats) but it seems to be an uphill battle. I can come up with graphics pretty quick but then struggle for weeks with figuring out how to implement them in DW so that they look and interact the way I want.

I know everyone says that networking is key...but what about Outsourcing or collaborating?

There is a guy in my office - total snake oil salesman - who knows enough to get himself into trouble, but he has connections and outsources lots of sites to the middle east or somewhere. Makes a bunch of side money for just getting the sale.

I don't really want to be a salesperson and outsource, cause I like the creative process. What is the point of getting into web design if I am not gonna design?

Any advice on how to get things going? What has worked for others?
        • 1. Re: OT - Advice on building up Web business
          joeq Level 1
          i'm not really sure what you're asking - if you just like the design part but can't be bothered with the coding, that's a perfectly respectable decision. hook up with someone who has little interest in the design end of things and is a whiz when it comes to dw, html, css, etc

i would say that, instead of outsourcing the work to qatar, you'd be better of joining forces with someone local and going in to pitch business as a team.

• 2. Re: OT - Advice on building up Web business
            Level 7