5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2010 1:20 PM by Lichtzeichenanlage

Individual pixels from an image?

PaulWaldo Level 1

Hi all,

I'm new to Lightroom plugin development, and hopefully this problem won't stop me in my tracks :-)

I've search the SDK docs as well as google, but I have not been able to find out how you can get the individual pixel values for an image.  Given an image, I want access to every RBG value.  Is this even possible?  Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Individual pixels from an image?
          PaulWaldo Level 1

I've realized I probably need to be a little more specific :-)  What I want to do is examine an image's RBG data in a read-only fashion and update the image's metadata based on crunching the RGB data.  From more perusal of the docs, I'm pretty sure this is not possible and maybe even discouraged.  The only other option I see is using an Export Post Process action.  I would have to export all the photos to disk, pull out the RBG data using some external process, then somehow push that value back to Lightroom.  Methinks this plugin will be no speed demon :-O

I can handle the exporting of the images, and can easily get the RBG info I need, but I don't see how I can the data pushed back into LIght room when done.  Any ideas?  Thanks in advance!

• 2. Re: Individual pixels from an image?
            JW Stephenson Level 4

First off, be sure the data you want to change can be modified by the LR SDK.  Review the fields in photo:setRawMetadata documentation.