7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2010 5:03 AM by Michel Bozgounov

Has anyone used InDesign CS5 instead of FW?

tpstom-BbNsOz

Hey there

I have been using Fireworks to design websites for a couple of years now and I have been using ID for several years for print design.

I wondered if anyone had started using InDesign CS5 for design for the web? If so, have you been able to export to HTML ok? Has the design worked just like a Fireworks document?

Thanks in advance

Tom

• 1. Re: Has anyone used InDesign CS5 instead of FW?
          JoyceEvans Level 3

Why would you want to? Indesign was made for print and Fireworks ws built ONLY for web. Personnally I use the tool that excels for the specific purpose.

But I don't use FW for HTML either, that would be Dreamweaver :-)

• 2. Re: Has anyone used InDesign CS5 instead of FW?
            tpstom-BbNsOz Level 1

Hi Joyce

The reason I would want to use InDesign is that the team I work with are all primarily print designers. I have happily used FW for the last few years but it does have its limitations.

As a layout tool, ID is far, far, far superior. That's why I would like to be able to use it for web design.

Unfortunately it seems that it will not export XHTML so I think we will continue with FW.

Thanks

Tom

• 3. Re: Has anyone used InDesign CS5 instead of FW?
              Michel Bozgounov Level 2

Id is for print. Fw is for Web/screen design. Each tool excells in certain areas.

Fw works beautifully for Web/graphic design, IMHO, so I happily use it every day...

• 4. Re: Has anyone used InDesign CS5 instead of FW?
                tpstom-BbNsOz Level 1

Michel

It's interesting you say that - it is exactly what I think also.

However, InDesign CS5 works in pixels and has the ability to create links, rollovers etc. And has introduced flash animation. It is hard to say that Indesign is for print - I wouldn't be surprised if Adobe dropped FW in the not too distant future and piled all the features into ID.

Tom