14 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2010 4:13 PM by teresamoore

Early retirement or learn CSS QUICKLY?

teresamoore

I'm a school and small business webmaster who has just been forced to migrate from CS3 to CS5.  The site I have been working for the past 2 years was easily designed in (you guessed it) basic HTML with tables.  I'm bright enough, I suppose, but CS5's complete focus on CSS is kicking my tail.  When I opened my tables-based site in the new program, I couldn't even change the font size or the text colors without skewing everything else on the page.  I have updates to do that I've easily done without much thought for all these past months and so I guess now I need to learn a new way of doing things in a HURRY!

At first I tried to turn CSS off, but no luck.  Then, I researched CSS for the three days, listening to and reading one tutorial after another.  I understand that CSS controls the APPEARANCE of my pages.  I am more a WYSIWYG person although I can write basic HTML.  Everything I came across on the 'net tells me how to write code, not how to put together my pages in design view.

I have used CS5's examples to no end, but when I change the background of the sidebar1, it changes the background in all the page elements.  When I bold a particular bit of text, it bolds all the text on the page.  When I delete everything and add a new element, I can't move it around.  I can't confidently drag pictures into my pages anymore.  I have downloaded one CSS template after another but I can't edit them in the way I want.  I thought of using an open-source editor that was more basic than CS5 but I've been with Dreamweaver since MX and I hate to give it up.

I just want a simple three-column liquid with a header and footer.  I want the header and footer to be one color, the sidebars another color and the main content pane to be a third color.  Then, I want to be able to add text and links to all this. This has never been hard until now.