22 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2007 2:57 AM by williamkusumo

Multiple HttpService Requests

Shark_Attack
      Hello everyone! I am new to flex 2 and have encountered a proble with httpservice. Im developing a small content management system which can be used in education. I will be using a php and mysql backend and flex 2 frontend. My problem is I am hoping to use multiple httpservice requests to complete much of my functionality e.g. one httpservice called login would call a login php script to authenticate the user, another httpservie called register called register would be used to register a new user when they click on the register button. Once the user has logged in i would like to use a 3rd httpservice request called loadprofile which would call profile php script which would then search the database a return relevant information. This may seem a silly question to more experienced devlopers but I was wondering if it is possible to make multiple httpservice requests in a single mxml application file? Someone please help me as i have hit a brick wall and this problem is holding up my app which i need to finish in the next few weeks. Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Multiple HttpService Requests
          chris.huston.t10 Level 3
          Yes, you can have multiple HTTPService requests in a single app. When you make a request, you can specify the function to process the result and then deal with the returned data in each of these functions. Avoid binding your results directly in mxml with result.lastResult properties since this will make debugging quite difficult. Here is an example with two requests:

<mx:HTTPService
          id="request1"
          method="POST"
          result="resultFxn1(event)"
          url=" http://some.server.com/script1.php"
          useProxy="false"/>
          id="request2"
          method="POST"
          result="resultFxn2(event)"
          url=" http://some.server.com/script.2php"
          useProxy="false"/>