16 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2010 1:45 PM by the_wine_snob

No audio: Exporting to either .wmv or .flv with PE7

D_Fox

I have tested my video on several different PCs and at least one Mac with no issues. I would prefer that my video be .flv because it is on the Web at www.centricityportal.com. I just found out that my boss and a coworker are able to see the flv video, but no audio. I sent them a .wmv as a test and they were not able to hear that audio either. My coworker found a .wmv file on a Web site and the video/audio played fine. Both are able to go to youtube and play back videos, so I don't understand what is special about my video that they can't hear the audio. I'm new to non-linear editing, so I'm looking at things like the problem being a codec issue. I tried exporting to numerous Windows codecs to no avail. Right now I'm just experimenting with .wmv because it seems like less of a headache to test. To make matters worse, I watched my video on a cheap netbook and it won't play the audio either.

These videos are going to be viewed from numerous operating systems that I won't have control of. Can someone give me some advice as to how I should be exporting my video so that the audio is heard by the marjority of Web folks? Thanks in advance for your help.

• 1. Re: No audio: Exporting to either .wmv or .flv with PE7
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Let's just look at the FLV, your desired delivery format, and find out what your Audio Settings are under the Advanced button. It is most likely MPEG-Layer III (MP3), as that is standard. If so, it could be that the other computers do not have the MP3 CODEC installed. If one has iTunes, and/or Apple's QT Player installed, they should have MP3 capabilities.

Now, they will need Adobe Flash Player, but I don't know if installing that also installs the MP3 CODEC, but I would think that it should.