6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2007 7:19 AM by ThinkInk

Administrator with version 4, user with CS3

shoobydoo
      I am a site administrator with 12 sites and 22 users. Everyone is on version 4, including me. Now, a new user is coming on board and she has to buy CS3 because version 4 isn't available anywhere. I just upgraded myself as site admin to version 4 last March. My boss doesn't want to have to upgrade me again so soon, if we don't have to. Will I be able to administer a site for someone on a HIGHER version than myself? In other words, if I am administering the site and generating a connection key with version 4 and sending it to my user who has CS3, will my version-4-generated-key be compatible with her CS3, or will I have to upgrade to CS3 in order to administer her site since she has CS3. I haven't been able to find a straight answer. Usually, it is the administrator who has a higher version than the users. But one user of mine will have a higher version than I.
        • 1. Re: Administrator with version 4, user with CS3
          ThinkInk Level 2
          I use Contribute 4, my client uses Contribute CS3. We are not in the same organisation.

According to the error-message I get you should upgrade to a higher or equal version to be able to administer your site:

Your version of Contribute is too old to administer this website. Please use a newer version of Contribute, or contact another website administrator.

But you, since you're in the same organisation as your users, can always decide to install your version 4 on the computer of the new user, and the CS3 version on your computer and then set the compatibility settings to Transitional!!

grtz.
          Hayo
          • 2. Re: Administrator with version 4, user with CS3
            shoobydoo Level 1
            Thank you for the information.