9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2010 8:03 AM by PurplePlumUK

Resizing "Click and Type" Text

efledderman17 Level 1

Ok so I'm brand new to Illustrator, but I'm very fluent in Photoshop.  However, I have small hickup which I can work around with no problem, I'm just sure there's an easier way to do this.

So from my understanding, the text tool can be used in two different ways.

1. Draw a box using the text tool.  You text with be confined within the space and will be used to determine alignment of text. Best used for paragraphs.

2. Click and Type. Best used for titles.

When using option 1, resizing the text box will simply adjust the area of which the text may cover.  The size and shape of the font stays the same, since the box simply limits the text area.  When using option 2, resizing the text box will cause the text to stretch and shrink accordingly, since the box itself directly relates to the size of the font.

That's all well and good, however what if I use one option, I have all the text all typed up beautifully, and then I decide I should have used the other option.  Is there a quick way to toggle between the two?

i.e.  I type a title that I suddenly need Justified.  Justifying after a click and type with cause all text to be on one line, rather then wrap and justify.

Not to be rude, but I'm very computer savvy (except lack of Illustrator experience), and I'm not at all interested in obvious work arounds such as copying and pasteing.  I am king of workarounds.  I'm simply asking, is the a correct way/feature for this?

• 1. Re: Resizing "Click and Type" Text
          [scott] Level 6

Select the type with the Direct Selection Tool. Edit > Cut. Select the Type Tool, drag a box, Edit > Paste.

There is no automatic method to swap point text for area text or vice versa. You may find a script somewhere though.

• 2. Re: Resizing "Click and Type" Text
            Scott Falkner Level 5