3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2010 5:49 PM by ronel_8

How to fix audio  of a video captured from DV output of camcorder using Adobe Premiere Elements 8?

ronel_8

Hello,

I purchased Adobe Premiere Elements 8 about one week ago.  I installed it and everything seem to work well in my first project.  I am new at editing videos but I was succesful in testing it by loading an existing video file in avi format from my computer and then doing some very basic editing (I splitted 2 scenes and added a title). 

After my first succesful project (described above) I started a brand new project. Here, I want to capture a one hour video  from the dv output of a video camera. So I connected the camera to the PC and then started adobe elements 8.  Before starting the capture I only checked the boxes that said "capture video" and "capture audio" (the other 2 boxes that said download to timeline and autoanalyze were left unchecked).  After that I started the capture process.

After the video capture was completed, a small window opened at the bottom saying that a PEAK FILE was being generated.    After the peak file generation finished, I looked at the captured video.  The video looked perfect.  However the audio of the video was too fast. By this, I mean that the voices of the people in the movie were like they were speaking at more than twice the normal speed.  Or to explain it in a different way, they sounded like the  chipmunks.

So now I come to the question of this thread I started.  Is there a way that I can fix the audio part of the video I captured?  I will appreciate any help on this. Below I listed a few additional details in case this is needed.

Thanks,

ronel_8

PS.  Here are some more details about my system:

1) Operating System: Windows XP

2) I am capturing the video on an external drive with 40 GB of available space. The external drive is connected to a PC via a USB connection.

3) Computer CPU: 2.4 GHZ

4) Computer RAM: 1.25 GB